It was an awesome night for the Perth creative and design industry, with over 100 of WA’s finest talent turning out to celebrate the best individuals in local craft, photography, film, digital, design and advertising.

With tunes from local DJ and RTR alumni Aarom Wilson playing throughout the night, Fridays Studio came alive with one of Perth’s best opportunities to network, gossip, cheer and occasionally throw shapes on the dancefloor. And somewhere amongst all that, there was recognition for some truly incredible talent.

The presentation started off slightly bittersweet, with a fond farewell paid to our Club stalwart and industry legend Danielle Norrish. Dani is taking on a new role as Executive Director of Black Swan State Theatre Company, and we’re all excited to see what she does next. That announcement was followed up by her news of her official replacement, Tia Brazier, as Club Manager. Then, it was onto the awards.

Sandbox’s Sam Price, who has proven to be versatile, multi-disciplinary digital designer, director and general creative force, took out the overall Diamond Skull winner for his beautifully crafted work on brands such as Nike Air House, Bombay Sapphire and Optus Stadium.

Chair of Diamond Skulls, Nick Law, said about Sam’s work: “At a time in the industry when “agility” has become an excuse for thoughtless and ham-fisted execution – it was refreshing to see such an impressive level of craft in all of the Diamond Skull categories. (Sam’s entry) was not only well-crafted, it delivered a gorgeous brand vitality and conceptual dimension to a space.”

You can see/hear/experience all of the winning work below…

Composer of the Year

Michael Fragomeni



St John Tiny Tots: ‘Shiny Plastic Choking Blocks’

St John Tiny Tots: ‘Stairs!’

St John Tiny Tots: ‘Boiling Water in a Pot’

Director of the Year

Adam Rule

Emerging Craftsperson of the Year

Rachel Boon


Photographer of the Year “Noel Holly Award”

Daniel Craig Matsu

Art Director of the Year

Rikki Burns


Digital Talent of the Year

Sam Price

Nike Air House

Bombay Sapphire Project Botanicals

Optus Stadium Sound & Colour


Sound Designer of the Year “Dave Upson Award”

Nick Gallagher

Powerball: Noisy Neighbours



Designer of the Year

Brett Layton

Editor of the Year

Adam Rule

Copywriter of the Year

Matthew Wilson

Face Your Waste Campaign Compilation

Diamond Skull Winner

Sam Price












Leave a Reply